80, rue Bonaparte, 75006 Paris

  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Clean

A self-taught painter, Du Bois possesses the artist's supreme gift of producing beauty instead of reproducing it. His profoundly original style escapes classifications, and his work is recognizable by all, marked by thick straight lines, bright colors, explosive, and fragments of figures that achieve the alloy of poetics to the signifier. But the major quality of this painting is that it is not only showy but invasive: no approximation between matter and form; between empty and full. It is always, full canvas, an extraordinary crudity of intense tones, pressed, tight.
Like nature, Du Bois's painting hates emptiness ... Some of his works are hallucinations, others metamorphoses. We guess the emotional state of the artist, which drives him to draw, to create its forms, to imprint their vision of the world. From a schizophrenic world steeped in fantasies and symbols, dreams and violence, enigmas and clarity.
Du Bois acts on the canvas in order to communicate to the spectator the breath of his passion and his requirements; she leads him where she wills, in a representation which escapes all law, to the musical rhythm of free figuration. As an invitation to travel ...

"Fumeuse"
"Les pièges enchantés"
"Création et complication"
"Life is a Game"

Peintre autodidacte, Du Bois possède ce don suprême de l’artiste qui consiste à produire de la beauté au lieu de la reproduire. Son style profondément original échappe aux classifications, et son œuvre est reconnaissable entre toutes, marquée par d’épaisses lignes droites, des couleurs vives, explosives, et des fragments de figures qui réalisent l’alliage du poétique au signifiant. Mais la qualité majeure de cette peinture, c’est qu’elle est non seulement voyante mais envahissante : aucune approximation entre matière et forme ; entre le vide et le plein. C’est toujours, à pleine toile, une extraordinaire crudité de tons intenses, pressés, serrés.
Comme la nature, la peinture de Du Bois a horreur du vide… Certaines de ses œuvres sont des hallucinations, d’autres des métamorphoses. On devine l’état émotionnel de l’artiste, qui le pousse à tracer, à créer ses formes, pour leur imprimer sa vision du monde. D’un monde schizophrénique pétri de fantasmes et de symboles, de rêves et de violence, d’énigmes et de clarté.
Du Bois agit sur la toile en sorte de communiquer au spectateur le souffle de sa passion et de ses exigences ; elle le mène où elle veut, dans une représentation qui échappe à toute loi, au rythme musical de la figuration libre. Comme une invitation au voyage…

80, rue Bonaparte, 75006 Paris

  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Clean